Department of Information Technology


The Department of Information Technology (IT) was established in the year 2001 with the aim of providing inclusive technology education to students, and thereby creating responsible citizens who would be a globally competent individuals contributing to the betterment of their families, society and nation. IT department started with UG Program with a sanctioned intake of 60 students. The Department has the state-of-the-art facilities for various laboratories, a well- equipped seminar hall, Wi-Fi enabled campus to support e-Learning, and a department library. B.Tech IT Programme is associated with Virtusa Software Services Pvt Ltd as knowledge partner, in which 40% curricular and Syllabus components are designed by Virtusa Software Services Pvt Ltd. The curriculum focuses on Full Stack Engineering for providing direct recruitment opportunity during VII Semester for all the eligible students. Some of the laboratories have also been set up in collaboration with industries as part of Centre of Excellence (CoE) such as Cognizant and Virtusa. The Department has highly qualified, competent, committed and experienced faculty with 50% Ph.D holders and certified by Industries like Cognizant, TCS, Infosys, Wipro and Virtusa. All the faculty members are involved in research and published papers in the reputed technical journals and conferences across the world. The department regularly conducts conferences and workshops for students and academicians in the emerging technologies. The department is accredited by NBA from 2019-20 to 2022-23.

Ms. Booshika (2019 – 2023)won Best Outgoing Sportswomen for her outstanding performance in 2023. Mr. S. Krishnaraj (2019 – 2023)won Academic Topper of R.M.D Engineering College in 2023. ISTE Award and Best Outgoing Student Award - Mr. S. Krishnaraj (Batch 2023) Mr. T. Nambiraja has won the First place in Web Design- Contest conducted by Concours 2K22 Mr. Prabhudeeswaran (batch 2024) won Techknow 2022 - Idea Competition Inauguration of Virtusa CoE Lab ISTE Award 2022 - Mr. Yadlapalli Venkata Lalith Kumar